Author Topic: pb with miktex 2.9 ?  (Read 9168 times)

florent

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« on: February 06, 2014, 09:47:30 PM »
Hi

I recently dropped miktek 2.7 and have succesfully installed the 2.9 version. All is ok except with winfig which doesn't want anymore render "special" using latex. I always have the same error

"Creating image from text object call failed.
Check the logfile winfig.log or disable LaTeX preview."

It seems winfig has lost its path to tex/dvips ? My command lines are
latex -quiet -job-name OUTFILE INFILE
dvips -quiet -E* -o OUTFILE INFILE

Thanks for any help.

Andreas

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2014, 02:32:36 AM »
I'm also having MikTeX 2.9 and it works. Can you still call latex on the command line?

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\Andreas>latex
This is pdfTeX, Version 3.1415926-2.3-1.40.12 (MiKTeX 2.9)
**
! End of file on the terminal... why?
C:\Users\Andreas>

Check if MiKTeX is still in the PATH.

"set PATH" in the command line will show your current PATH variable. It should contain the bin directory of the MiKTeX installation i.e.

C:\Program Files (x86)\MiKTeX 2.9\miktex\bin\
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 02:34:43 AM by Andreas »
This forum belongs to www.schmidt-web-berlin.de/winfig

florent

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2014, 08:42:55 AM »
Hi Andreas,

thanks for answering.

Miktex 2.9 is OK and working with WinEdt. I did what you told and all is ok, i'm able to find the right directory to mikteX/bin. But I guess Winfig should auto-detect it and it doesn't, and I can't find where I can manually set it in Winfig.

I think that maybe an reinstallation of winfig should work ?

Best regards,
Florent




Andreas

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 03:24:34 AM »
WinFIG ist just calling the LaTeX commands that are configured in the preferences. It works if these can be executed. The LaTeX/bin folder must be in the PATH for that. Reinstalling WinFIG doesn't help.

You could open a CMD and try to call latex or dvips for a test.

Did you look into winfig.log?
This forum belongs to www.schmidt-web-berlin.de/winfig

florent

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2014, 10:58:32 PM »
Hi

latex & dvips are working from a CMD. winfig log is now fulfilled with those kind of errors (I don't know if it will be useful)
 
_______________________________________________________
C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp/texclip.tex:5: Emergency stopC:\Users\SKYNET~1\AppData\Local\Temp\texclip: No such file or directory
dvips: DVI file can't be opened: Error: /undefinedfilename in (C:\\Users\\SKYNET~1\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\texclip.eps)
Operand stack:

Execution stack:
   %interp_exit   .runexec2   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   2   %stopped_push   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   false   1   %stopped_push
Dictionary stack:
   --dict:1153/1684(ro)(G)--   --dict:0/20(G)--   --dict:70/200(L)--
Current allocation mode is local
Last OS error: No such file or directory
GPL Ghostscript 8.63: Unrecoverable error, exit code 1
Error: /undefinedfilename in (C:\\Users\\SKYNET~1\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\texclip.eps)
Operand stack:

Execution stack:
   %interp_exit   .runexec2   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   2   %stopped_push   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   --nostringval--   false   1   %stopped_push
Dictionary stack:
   --dict:1153/1684(ro)(G)--   --dict:0/20(G)--   --dict:70/200(L)--
Current allocation mode is local
Last OS error: No such file or directory
GPL Ghostscript 8.63: Unrecoverable error, exit code 1
C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp/texclip.tex:5: I can't write on file `
_______________________________________________________________________________

Andreas

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2014, 02:05:04 PM »
There is something wrong with permissions. The latex tools cannot write to C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp

This is the temp directory of the current user (Skynet) and should be writable for the user Skynet.

This forum belongs to www.schmidt-web-berlin.de/winfig

florent

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2014, 12:00:53 AM »
thanks for answering I keep on fighting there is something I cant understant now

and if I do not solve this problem, I (skynet) will raise a cyborg army to help me :)

Andreas

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2014, 03:48:23 PM »
WinFIG uses the following templates:
Code: [Select]
latex -quiet -output-directory TEMPDIR -job-name OUTFILE TEMPDIR/INFILE
dvips -quiet -E* -o TEMPDIR/OUTFILE TEMPDIR/INFILE

First it wraps the content of a tex object with the LaTeX envelope (see Preferences-> TeX view) and writes that to a file named texclip.tex.

Then it converts the texxclip.tex to texclip.dvi:
Code: [Select]
latex -quiet -output-directory TEMPDIR -job-name OUTFILE TEMPDIR/INFILE
Then it converts texclip.dvi to texclip.eps:
Code: [Select]
dvips -quiet -E* -o TEMPDIR/OUTFILE TEMPDIR/INFILE
Then it calls GhostScript to convert the EPS to PNG, which is then loaded into WinFIG and used for rendering the text object.

You could try to run the latex commands from the command line. Put some file named foo.tex into  C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp

Then run:
Code: [Select]
latex -quiet -output-directory  C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp -job-name foo.dvi C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp/foo.tex
Then run:
Code: [Select]
dvips -quiet -E* -o C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp/foo.eps C:/Users/SKYNET~1/AppData/Local/Temp/foo.dvi
If that works, it should work in WinFIG too, unless WinFIG is run with less permissions than the current user. If it doesn't work, try changing the variable TEMPDIR in the preferences dialog to some real path.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 03:49:54 PM by Andreas »
This forum belongs to www.schmidt-web-berlin.de/winfig

florent

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: pb with miktex 2.9 ?
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2014, 09:28:09 AM »
Hi andreas,

(I was on vacation) Thanks for answering. It works now !!

Thanks for all, best regards